Onze gebruikers hebben in totaal 3,910 show recensies geschreven. Deze pagina is een geweldige manier om nieuwe of oude shows te ontdekken, vernieuw de pagina om weer nieuwe dingen te zien. De hoogste gewaardeerde shows zijn gebaseerd op shows met meer dan twee recensies. Je kunt ook een recensie schrijven als je bij een show bent geweest of er naar hebt geluisterd, we nodigen je uit om dat te doen!

Joshua Tree Tour 2017

Er zijn 21 recensies geschreven door 18 fans.

2017-05-12 - Vancouver

Geschreven door Birdman33ca - 11 dagen geleden

This was almost a few different shows blended into 1 for me. The opening songs on the B stage were fabulous - I loved the progression through the early years before Joshua - I can see this mini-set changing as the tour progresses to include more early favourites like Out of Control, Electric Co, Two Hearts, Bad, etc.

Then the Joshua set. Of course it begins with 4-5 of the biggest anthem songs ever, and the entire stadium is surging with the energy it produces. Enhanced by the stage backdrop that comes alive before your eyes, it's like you are transported to another world in these 20 minutes or so. Then the excitement of hearing Red Hill for the first time ever, with the odd Salvation Army band that from my vantage point, I couldn't tell if they were playing as well, or just there in graphic form? Then the album slows down with what I would consider non-concert tracks for the most part. Bono, having not sung most of them for a long time, has to hang pretty close to the prompter and the show lots a lot of energy I found. After "Mothers", it seemed like the band wasn't sure if they were leaving the stage or not, Edge nodding towards the stairs and the rest following him.

The Encore was a bit of a mixed bag. Beautiful Day seems to be a band fav, and Elevation gets the crowd going again. Ultraviolet sounds really, really good live, and everyone loves One, but then it dies a horrible death. Ms. Sarajevo is a great song, but this is anthem time, not reflection time. The crowd watches the amazing footage of the refugee camps the whole song, and when the Luciano part of the song plays, the band themselves just stood there on the B stage and watched the video. Then the new song (Little Things), and as pointed out, nobody is singing because we are all listening intently to it, and even when it gets rocking in the last half of the song, it's hard to come along for that ride when you don't know what to expect.

Then that song over, the walk up the ramp, and the show dies right there. I was still cheering for one last hit I could sing along with to send me into the night, and the stage started to be pulled apart in front of my eyes. I felt like it needed more to be complete, like I'd have to come back for part 2, which alas there wasn't. 22 songs, where I think 24 would have been the right number. Toss Vertigo on the end while the walk back up the ramp to the main stage, then end with 40 ala 1987. Just like that, complete experience.

I hate to say this wasn't a perfect U2 show - I went with a friend who had never seen them before and walked away saying it was the best concert he has ever seen - but for me, I think the 2015 I+E Vancouver shows were better put together and left me feeling more content than this one. Perhaps, I need to see one later in the tour and see how they progress.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2017-05-12 - Vancouver door Frontrow85 gewaardeerd met

This was my 9th U2 show having seen once every tour since 85. That means the 8th time I've..
Lees volledige recensie »

2017-05-12 - Vancouver door jennagirl gewaardeerd met

I thoroughly enjoyed the show. I was late getting to GA (3 pm) and ended up at main stage 2..
Lees volledige recensie »

2017-05-14 - Seattle door jennagirl gewaardeerd met

I cant give it 5 because who knows what's next. But an awesome show and an awesome day. Took a..
Lees volledige recensie »


Innocence and Experience tour

Er zijn 278 recensies geschreven door 168 fans.

2015-12-06 - Paris

Geschreven door LocalHero - 1 jaar geleden

I'm french and I do not write properly in English, sorry.

Paris, Sunday, December 6, 2015. A fabulous concert, amazing, energetic and full of emotions. Although the sound was too loud, it will be a great memory. When will the next. More details below.

Details :

2015, I know and listen to U2 since the beginning of their adventure but I have never seen them in concert. WHY, when I've seen dozens of live bands ????

I am a musician (trumpet). Around me, I was proud to announce that for the first time in my life I was going to attend a U2 concert.

On the evening of Friday, November 13, 2015, around 22:30, after a repetiton, I received a text message from my sister who wrote : "Watch the news on television, this is very serious."

In front of my TV, I was at first incredulous and then I realized that the situation was terrible in Paris. People were killed at random in various public places in the capital. I could not go to bed before knowing the outcome of the hostage-taking in "Le Bataclan". Late at night, it was the horrible announcement ; dozens of deaths were reported. I cried.

Then I thought about the U2 concert which I had to attend on November 14. I thought : "I can not go. I can not partying. I have to respect the victims. U2 will definitely cancel his upcoming concerts in Paris. How to go on stage the day after such a tragedy ?"

Soon after, U2 decided to cancel the concerts on 14 and 15 November. My first time at a U2 show was compromised. Yet it was not that I care about. I can still see them again as dozens of victims of the attacks will never be able to attend any show.

A few days later, I thought : "Life must go must go back to the theaters".

The week after the attacks, U2 provided postponing concerts in the 6 and 7 December. While containing my joy (always a thought for the victims, some of my region), I was looking forward to the announcement.

On December 6, at 12:30, with two friends and my wife, we take the road to Paris. We reserved parking in the basement that we find easily.

14:15, my friends decide to go directly to the Bercy Arena take their place in the queue. My wife and I go to "Le Bataclan" and "Place of the Republic" to recollect us. It was a very intense and very emotional moment.

16:30, we finally join our friends who are in the queue, doubling the spectators who kindly let us pass.

We met with youngs of Lyon. We share with them our different musical tastes, different experiences of concerts, our impressions of the quality of concert halls ... We eat our sandwishes.

18.30 Finally, the queue advance ; we lose sight of Lyon. The Arena "swallows" gradually spectators. We are among the first to access the pit. We sit on the edge of the "Red Zone" on the side "Adam Clayton."

While my friends and my wife will buy a souvenir T-shirt, I discover the facilities for the show. U2 machinery is worthy of Arras Main Square Festival or a show of Pink Floyd (or almost). Is the promise of a great show ?

I spotted the t-shirt "Nous n'avons pas peur - Paris" but the French flag is printed upside down. I give up to buy it, I will draw one myself.

We drink a few beers while listening to the background music, the sound is too loud. I protect my ears with plugs. Our tip to buy beer without queuing is to ask a Spanish viewer installed in the "red zone" order them. He accepts, it's very nice of him, his girlfriend sulks a bit anyway.

The pit fills up much faster than the seats that remain for a long time almost all empty. The thought crosses my : "people have requested reimbursement of places after the attacks." But no, it was not until the approach of the beginning of the concert that people take up their seats. In the distance, we recognize Mireille d'Arc among the VIPs.

Before the U2 concert, on stage, "models" (spectators?) Are positioned to help technicians with sensors to perform calibrations cameras to capture the spectacle.

Other technicians, those for the lights, are winched to projectors to fifteen meters above the pit. These are Americans. We discuss with them just before their climb.

The background music does finish more. I do not notice that "People have the power" by Patti Smith is introducing the show. When it becomes obvious that public clamor announces the arrival of Bono "At the other side of the Stage".

It is 20:30. Bono begins : "Vive la France ... Vive l'Europe." It gives me chills. And THE SHOW begins with "Miracle" in chorus brilliantly taken by a public impressive. It rallied as one man is unique, indescribable, unforgettable, stunning. Bono is moved, I feel this. I am happy to be here, I'm in show ("Merde aux cons").

The following titles continue to set an amazing atmosphere in the arena. Everyone is standing, claps hands, sing ... takes part in the show. Bono becomes the leader of the audience. "Bonjour Paris ... Ce soir nous sommes tous parisiens … Si vous aimez la liberté, Paris est votre ville". This day is special for spectators and for which U2 had announced a few days earlier, "We will give the best on 6 and 7 December in Paris."

The show is beautifully orchestrated and offers different atmospheres : energy, strength, memories, melancholy, anger, rebellion ... hope.

Brigitte, a spectator invited by Bono on stage, is to the height of the show. She is in harmony with the scene : black jeans, yellow sweater, yellow flower in her hair and a small French flag. She impresses the audience and Bono by her boldness (she gives a kiss to the four guys), spontaneity ("I'm from Paris, the best city of the world"), her joy to be there (she dances and films the show).

The success of the show is also based on visual effects and very successful lights. The giant screen, through which Bono and the rest of the group walks, gives him a unique dimension. This is unheard of. Bono does not mince words, does not hide his ideas. He illustrates "Welcome to The Refugees" by a very strong image : the stars of the European flag are replaced by drowned wearing a yellow vest floating in water.

The most moving tribute U2 in memory of the victims of November 13 happens to encores. The huge central screen, which crosses right through Bercy, becomes blue, white, red, shows the logo of peace and the names of 130 dead people on 13 November. Bono sings in French a few verses of "Ne me quitte pas" by Jacques Brel.

Bono also invited at the American rocker Patti Smith, has since Friday in Paris for two concerts in connection with the climate conference for a "People Have The Power" in energetic conclusion of a concert rich in color, and videos decibels.

Bono on stage and his three buddies actually give the best of themselves. I feel them very concentrated, very applied. They exchange glances with each other to play better together. They are very friendly and close to their audience. Bono appreciates the clamor and sometimes he does not know what to say. He is sincere. U2 is a very large group.

Very impressive, extraordinary. Why didn't i ever attended one of their concerts ?
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2015-11-28 - Dublin door u2fancat gewaardeerd met

Not as many people looking for tickets tonight - unlike last night, where we had the guy mimicking the homeless,..
Lees volledige recensie »

2015-11-02 - London door b1gals gewaardeerd met

I'm 49 years old and a U2 fan since 1982 and got to see them live at Wembley Joshua Tree,..
Lees volledige recensie »

2015-05-30 - Inglewood door bcwgobuffs gewaardeerd met

So far starters, let’s put this review into context. LA 530 was my 18th or so show since 1983..
Lees volledige recensie »


U2 360° Tour

Er zijn 722 recensies geschreven door 363 fans.

2009-09-12 - Chicago

Geschreven door bpt3 - 18 dagen geleden

From getting in line at 6am to the end of Moment of Surrender, I'll never forget this first show. Bono ended the evening saying "What an opening night." Highlights included Breathe, Irish Boy snippet into Beautiful Day, Unforgettable Fire, Bad, and Ultraviolet. The opening sequence leading up to and including Breathe was just spectacular. I really wish they would've kept this song around longer. Bad was a great surprise, even including the glitch with Edge's delay at the beginning. And Ultraviolet still might be my favorite performance of a song in any of the 5 shows I've seen since. The laser jacket, the song performance itself, the encore intensity, just all so good.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2009-09-23 - East Rutherford door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

I loved this show."The Manhattan skylin,The City Of Blinding Lights".Bonos great quote.Nothing like seeing the band band here.Your Blue Room..
Lees volledige recensie »

2011-05-15 - Mexico City door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Overall a good show, not as good as the 2nd night though. EBTTRT from this night appears on the From..
Lees volledige recensie »

2011-05-14 - Mexico City door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

One of the best 360 shows in the 7th leg and in the whole tour. The setlist is pretty unique,..
Lees volledige recensie »


Vertigo Tour

Er zijn 417 recensies geschreven door 123 fans.

2005-03-28 - San Diego

Geschreven door cesar_garza01 - 2 jaren geleden

Here it is, the first Vertigo show. Technically not the debut of the songs (there was a rehearsal in L.A. a few days before), but it was fresh for all the audience there and they enjoyed it a lot. Same for me. The band did their homework and practiced for the show and songs like COBL and Vertigo are already in top form. Then the band really surprised everyone with an Electric Co. full of energy like in the old days! To top that, the always powerful An Cat Dubh/Into the Heart combo. The setlist was still a work in progress and some of the songs do not flow well (Elevation to close the main set?), but there are no big mistakes like other tours. Beautiful Day had a great outro, and Bono was happy to be in San Diego. Another good thing about this show is that there are no tired speeches, no "Edge is from the future". For the same reason, SBS and Bullet are very good, without killing the vibe with long speeches in the middle of the songs. Zoo Station and The Fly had some problems, but Bono improvised complete lyrics for both songs and it more than make up for the mistakes. Elevation was also not very good, and its place in the setlist was not the most appropriate one. The now standard interaction with the crowd didn't work well, but that's ok, it's the first time.
The encore was very good, particularly Streets. Some people don't like Yahweh, but it's one of my favorites from HTDAAB. The final surprise of the night is 40 returning as the closer. Bono said they haven't played since 1993 but it was actually 1998. By the way, thank you Bono for acknowledging Mexico! We love you too! He must had seen a Mexican flag, being in San Diego.
Overall, a more than solid start of the tour, with the band happy to return to their natural habitat. No long speeches, which makes the experience more enjoyable. Check it out.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2005-10-04 - Boston door MattG gewaardeerd met

I downloaded the entire thing solely to hear "Crumbs From Your Table" placed that early in the setlist, and listened..
Lees volledige recensie »

2005-09-21 - Chicago door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

In this show even the standard Vertigo songs shine: one of the best Electric Co. (there's a See Me, Feel..
Lees volledige recensie »

2005-07-29 - Gothenburg door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

In terms of sound and performance, this is one of the best Vertigo bootlegs. If you're looking for European Vertigo..
Lees volledige recensie »


Elevation Tour

Er zijn 326 recensies geschreven door 85 fans.

2001-10-25 - New York

Geschreven door oddjob102 - 8 jaren geleden

I was at this concert. It was my first time back in NYC after 9/11, and you could feel the tension in the air- it was still fresh on everyone's mind. The setlist was perfect- almost every song seemed custom made for the way we were all feeling, or wanted to feel- even the ones written 20 years before. "Streets" was a particular highlight. And during the encore, Bono was wearing a NYPD t-shirt and hat, and all the police officers and firefighters in the house joined him onstage. The house lights were on, everyone was smiling... it was an amazing experience and went a long way to making us feel good again. I'll never forget it, it was the best concert I have ever been to.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2001-03-29 - Charlotte door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

3rd Elevation show and the performances are getting better and better. Elevation starts the show with a great I'm Like..
Lees volledige recensie »

2001-10-13 - Hamilton door mattfromcanada gewaardeerd met

As this was my first GA experience, I took the day off with my brother and stood in line in..
Lees volledige recensie »

2001-07-21 - Turin door stj0691 gewaardeerd met

Highlights

I Will Follow – finally, we got a good one!
Stuck in a Moment – Bono comes back vocally
Stay – Very..
Lees volledige recensie »


Popmart

Er zijn 332 recensies geschreven door 101 fans.

1998-03-21 - Johannesburg

Geschreven door nfsmulder - 3 maanden geleden

Review written on 22 March, 1998.

Saturday night i was rather deaf and got in bed @ 2am - but sooooooo excited. A dream came true. There’s this ultra marathon in South Africa - 90 kilometres (60 miles?). Once the winner commented looking @ the crowd still finishing in the heat 7 hours after him, that they experience the true spirit of the event. So was the U2 concert. 35 metres from the front or was it 50? Seeing the screen beautifully, but having to stretch to see the stars we wanted to thrill kiss, hold, &kill :-). Afterwards smelling from beer, nicotine, marijuana and dripping from sweat, but happy after a truly spiritual experience. It was the best worship of God I ever had (even better than church where I lead it) when we pleaded with God in 40 and throughout.

The event was broadcast semi-live over national television. Semi because the show started 9:30 and on tv @ 10 so they could squeze commercials in - so popmartish :-).

Looking 2 the show afterwards on tv I got the best of both worlds. Live the vibe and crowd…..tv the quality and some moments you missed in the crowd.

I taped it from my VCR to tape - great listen in the car. Anybody wanna trade? I need Achtung baby & Zooropa on CD.

What a mess afterwards. Interesting - selling beer in plastic bottles - good thing :-). Were there from 5:00. Tickets (ours) cost 170 rand each for me and my youngest brother - I made him the U2 fan year’s ago, so he bought the tickets. We sang “how long to sing this song probably for 5 minutes and heard some music and went wild!!!

But that wasn’t them. Just a cd. Then: looking for baby Jesus under the trash.

U2 - thanx for blessing us. We’ll pray for you guys. Peace to you and fans all around the world.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1997-12-09 - Vancouver door Doming0 gewaardeerd met

My brother and I started off with nosebleed seats and while Smash Mouth was playing we found the Ticketmaster girl..
Lees volledige recensie »

1997-05-31 - East Rutherford door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

Well,as I said,I was down on the band at this point.Thank God they woke up and went back to basics..
Lees volledige recensie »

1997-08-28 - Leeds door ric gewaardeerd met

absolutely the best popmart gig in my opinion - there are a couple of other shows that might be considered..
Lees volledige recensie »


ZOO TV

Er zijn 497 recensies geschreven door 133 fans.

1992-06-11 - Stockholm

Geschreven door germcevoy - 8 jaren geleden

I couldn't be arsed posting on this show because there isn't a lot that can be said about this show that hasn't been said before so I shall type out Willie Williams thoughts for you all as he hits the nail bang on the head :

Originally posted by Willie

STOCKHOLM. Well tonight was the one. It was the night that I stopped during the gig and thought to myself ''This is the high point on my career''. The entire gig from the Globe in Stockholm was broadcast live to just one person's house - that of Mr John Harris of Nottingham, England. He won an MTV competition, so got the private broadcast. His small living room was piled high with TV's and of course everybody from the whole street was in there. There was also a camera at their end, sending pictures back to us, so at various points during the show, the living room in Nottingham would appear on the stage video walls. Bono would break to speak to them and they would reply of course. Of course by 10pm everyone at the Nottingham end was blind drunk, which made it all the more entertaining. Technologically it was flawless too, which was pretty astounding.

So later on, Benny and Bjorn - the guys from ABBA - appear. We have U2 and ABBA performing 'Dancing Queen' beneath the mirrorball trabant, being broadcast live from a giant spherical building in Sweden to one terraced house in Nottingham. I rest my case.

Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1992-03-13 - Worcester door Breemsicle gewaardeerd met

Worth hearing. It's a really fun concert, but the poor sound makes it a difficult listen.

Highlights:

Even Better than the..
Lees volledige recensie »

1992-04-23 - Vancouver door Breemsicle gewaardeerd met

One of my favorite 1st leg shows, second only to the Boston Saint Patrick's Day show.

Highlights:

Even Better than the Real..
Lees volledige recensie »

1993-06-15 - Berlin door MattG gewaardeerd met

I downloaded this show after reading an interesting anecdote about it in Bill Flanagan's "U2 At the End of the..
Lees volledige recensie »


Lovetown

Er zijn 171 recensies geschreven door 71 fans.

1990-01-06 - Rotterdam

Geschreven door MWSAH - 8 jaren geleden

Sometimes I wonder why I was born in December 1988, one year before this lovely concert in Rotterdam. I was probably in my cradle as a 1-year old boy when Edge hit the first tabs of Where the Streets Have No Name in Ahoy Rotterdam on that special 6th of January 1990, 90 kilometres from my hometown.

I often ask myself the question: what would it have been like to be part of the audience during a Lovetown-show. I fell in love with the Point Depot gigs in Ireland, and the Rotterdam-shows from early January were even better, some say. Lovetown:the name itself explains it, like BB King spells during When Love Comes To Town: L-O-V-E. Yes, I love rock, I love U2, but I especially love Lovetown. Don't get me wrong, because I know the Joshua Tour was enormous and awesome. And Zoo TV was one big happening, followed by Popmart, whether you like it or not. Also Elevation gives me special feelings and was my favourite tour for a long time. But Lovetown is top-notch. The mix of songs between the Joshua Tree and Rattle and Hum, performed in small places with BB King's Orchestra makes Lovetown the best tour for me. I didn't take long and U2 didn't even cross the world with it. But the modesty of it does it for me. Like Bono says at a Point Depot show: 'After all these big places, we wanted to play a small place'.

Lovetown also marked the end of a decade in which U2 finally showed itself to the world in full glory. Live Aid in 1985 was a very important turning point, sealed by the release of The Joshua Tree. But U2 felt that every end had a start. U2 was looking for a new direction and needed time.

The energy and commitment of U2 was awesome back then. Bono was at his prime. His voice was a mix between the Joshua Tour and the upcoming Zoo TV. And U2 really enjoyed what they were doing. Lovetown was not a show, it was no entertainment like Zoo TV or Popmart. It wasn't a show with political context, like Vertigo. It was based on music, pure music, pure rock and roll. And you can feel the excitement and joy of U2 trough these shows. I guess they enjoyed every bit, like the audience.

U2's first European success was actually founded in Holland, where the single I Will Follow became a giant hit. Bono mentions this during this Rotterdam show when they start Love Rescue Me, when he says: 'And this is also a good place to end, because we more or less started here ten years ago. You've been very good for us, thank you!'. The crowd was ecstatic.

This show is awesome. It has reached a nice spot in my top ten favourites, I think. It's equal to the Point Depot shows, with U2 really on fire. I missed New Year's Day and Bad, but I know U2 played 4 shows at Rotterdam. The Bad from the 10th of January is one of the best there is.
This show is quite memorable as The Unforgettable Fire was played for the last time. I listened to this show trough my Sennheiser CX300 and my eyes shut. I transferred myself to Ahoy, Rotterdam, 18 years ago, being in the audience. I felt the energy, I experienced U2 in their best days
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1989-11-18 - Sydney door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

A very special show for multiple reasons: they had to evacuate the venue due to a bomb threat (sounds familiar?),..
Lees volledige recensie »

1989-12-01 - Osaka door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

The setlist was shaken quite a bit, I don't know if it flows well, but it's always interesting to hear..
Lees volledige recensie »

1989-11-25 - Tokyo door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Great show in Tokyo, They knew all the songs and sang to them. WOWY was played 5th, earliest in a..
Lees volledige recensie »


Joshua Tree Tour

Er zijn 287 recensies geschreven door 94 fans.

1987-07-15 - Madrid

Geschreven door LikeASong - 8 jaren geleden

When the Where The Streets Have No Name organ sounded over the 125k people on the stadium and lights went up, Bono appeared with a soccer balloon and shot it over the crowd. The first point of the night was amazing. After that, (just at the end of I Will Follow - which was awesome too) Bono gave some gifts to the mad spanish crowd. "Este es un lugar GREANDE, pero U2 y vosotros somos MUCHO MAAS grandes!!" ("This is a huge place, but U2 and you, we are MUCH bigger!!" ***Crowd went nuts***...

I'm not commenting every single detail, because it'd be so long. The whole show was spreaded with pearls. The Edge was also joking with some audience members, and Larry went off twice of the drumming-kit to wave and salute the audience (this anecqdothes are obviously not in the recording, but my parent was there and he knows it). Great.

The Electric Co was another great point. Bono climbed up to the stage once again (for the last time) and there (over 30 meters up the crowd) holded (for the last time! What a unique moment) the U2 White Flag. Awesome. After that (crowd went nuts again) he sung the best snippet done ever into that song: Break On Thru (To The Other Side). My father's throat went of on that moment .

And of course, Spanish Eyes was the absolute highlight of the night. As the first performance of a song, it was raw and not pulished, but how great it was. The crowd loved it and sung along (although they didnt know the song! how weird!).

And ''40", the closer song. Probably best version of the song ever. Amazing. Crowd thown the few energies they had left on this song. Amazing. My father once told me that people went out of the stadium singing out loud the "Hooooowww looooong... To sing this song?", and that verses were heard for hours at some points of Madrid... So great!
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1987-11-14 - Oakland door emiel gewaardeerd met

There are no Lowlights only Highlights ...a very good show the sound is almost as good as 1987-11-07 - Denver..
Lees volledige recensie »

1987-10-20 - Iowa City door IAFAN gewaardeerd met

This was my first U2 show. Met Bono before the show. Hours before they were warming up and..
Lees volledige recensie »

1987-11-24 - Fort Worth door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Just superb! The band was inspired by BB King's presence and turned it up a notch. The JT tour peaked..
Lees volledige recensie »


Conspiracy Of Hope

Er zijn 21 recensies geschreven door 10 fans.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Geschreven door MattG - 7 jaren geleden

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

Er zijn 247 recensies geschreven door 67 fans.

1985-04-18 - Worcester

Geschreven door cesar_garza01 - 2 jaren geleden

One of the most special UF shows and the best setlist of the tour! At the beginning Bono said they wanted to give something special to Massachusetts, and boy, they did. Last Brick, A Day Without Me and I Fall Down ever. A Day Without Me is a mess, Dear Prudence snippet included, but it's a fun mess. Even Bono says "sometimes you just forget". Unforgettable Fire was very special with the "Stay tonight in a lie" replaced by diff. lyrics and sounded very good. The show continued in great way, and Electric Co. was another highlight, as usual for UF shows. After that, Bono picks up a boy from the audience, his father explains in the mic that his name is Ever Peaceful (no kidding!). Bono says that's the best name he ever heard, then he wanted to give him a balloon but it pops, he says he wants an "Ever Peaceful Award" procured.
Bad is over 12 min long with great snippets. During NYD, Bono tosses the mic down, and you hear some cheering, so maybe he was doing his climbing thing around the place. Party Girl is 7 min long! All bets are off, some girl Bono calls Maid Marion is introduced to Ever Peaceful. Bono, as all the joking continues, says something like "We're a really serious political band, remember?" He then serenades Ever with the "Papa come home" snippet introducing Ever Peaceful into the snippet! The boy grabs Bono's hat and B. sings Auld Lang Syne for him. I Will Follow is great, The bootleg stops here, but you can add '40' from the other source because it was also special with many snippets.
Overall, a very special, fun show that you have to check.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1985-02-04 - Milan door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

This has quickly become one of my favourite U2 recordings. The crowd are wild and the show is excellent. All..
Lees volledige recensie »

1985-03-21 - Chicago door Ali709 gewaardeerd met

mazing! It was the first ever Unforgettable Fire tour bootleg I listened to. It exceeded my expectations. It’s a very..
Lees volledige recensie »

1985-04-30 - Jacksonville door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

Awesome show. Unbelievable crowd, very strong performance, and really good sound too! According to Bono, at this show they have..
Lees volledige recensie »


War Tour

Er zijn 169 recensies geschreven door 57 fans.

1982-12-02 - Manchester

Geschreven door bowenjaybee - 8 jaren geleden

This was one of a handful of U2 bootlegs that I got hold of from a record fair in the late 80's, I loved it then and I love it now..... I highly recommend this to anyone who has played in a band and asked the sound engineer to record their band through the mixing desk (soundboard)........this is a totally raw mixing desk recording with the band upfront, warts and all and the audience cannot be heard which makes the recording even stranger...Plus you get to hear very early versions of Surrender, Sunday Bloody Sunday & New Years Day before the War album was released,, compare these versions to the Red Rocks versions and you can hear what an amazing transformation U2 and the new songs went through in just 6 months......A classic bootleg!
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1983-06-01 - San Francisco door fleavox gewaardeerd met

The show is plagued by tech problems but was oddly funny, specially after first 6 songs!!

Highlights: Out of Control..
Lees volledige recensie »

1983-02-26 - Dundee door ahn1991 gewaardeerd met

The only reason I gave this bootleg a 4 star rating is because Like A Song is performed live.

This..
Lees volledige recensie »

1983-02-26 - Dundee door nickbibby gewaardeerd met

A real gem for me. Loved the set list, especially the inclusion of Like A Song for the only..
Lees volledige recensie »


October Tour

Er zijn 107 recensies geschreven door 28 fans.

1982-01-26 - Dublin

Geschreven door daymo1202 - 5 maanden geleden

A good friend of mine was at this show and was billed as U2's homecoming show in Dublin in January 1982. According to him Bono was at the peak of his game and so too were the other band members. My friend had a backstage pass too but actually declined the offer and thought getting his then girlfriend home that night was more important. Such a gentleman!

His brother did go backstage and just shared a buffet with all those who were there including U2. Both my friend and his brother had seen U2 as early as 1979 in Dublin at the Dandelion Market and Trinity College so seeing them live and meeting them was no big deal. I keep telling them to write a book.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1981-08-16 - Slane door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

An interesting show. Not great, but not as bad as the band cracked it up to be. Many of the..
Lees volledige recensie »

1982-03-17 - New York door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-10-30 - Amsterdam door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

U2 in the Netherlands. Enough said. There's always something in the air when the band plays here and this show..
Lees volledige recensie »


Boy Tour

Er zijn 117 recensies geschreven door 42 fans.

1981-03-18 - San Jose

Geschreven door Dystopian45 - 11 maanden geleden

As I remember it, this was a free show or cost next to nothing to attend. It was held in the student union ballroom of San Jose State University. This room was built to be earthquake proof and the floor was suspended on something like springs. When the floor got packed and the music started and people started moving in time with the music the floor started to act like a trampoline. No kidding. If you timed your jump you could launch yourself 3 to 4 feet off the floor. They had to have crew guys hold the P.A. system in place as everything started to wobble. I saw XTC, Huey Lewis, Fabulous Thunderbirds and more in this room and all the shows were amazing with a very intimate vibe. I miss those days.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

I rediscovered this gig and it is truly fantastic. I listened to the old source a long time ago and..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-01-24 - Glasgow door BigGiRL gewaardeerd met

From Pimm Jal de la Parra, U2 Live - A Concert Documentry:

Before Twilight Bono points to the 'Boy' backdrop.
..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-06-08 - Geleen door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

U2 playing at Pinkpop and the love affair with the Dutch is cemented in this show. The band tried to..
Lees volledige recensie »


Early Days

Er zijn 37 recensies geschreven door 22 fans.

1980-02-26 - Dublin

Geschreven door CMIPalaeo - 8 maanden geleden

Silver Lining is an early version of 11 O'Clock Tick Tock. Musically it's nearly identical (except a few neat little things at the end) but has very different lyrics. Speed of Life has lyrics, unlike the version that was eventually officially released. Trevor is an early version of Touch. Shadows and Tall Trees sounds quite different to the version on Boy.

Overall, a very solid show with great historical value. It's really something special to see the band at this early stage playing with all the passion and fire that will define their whole career.

Highlights
- Life On a Distant Planet (one of my favourite of U2's early songs)
- Another Day
- Pete the Chop
- Cartoon World
- Twilight
- Out of Control
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1980-03-02 - Tullamore door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

Nothing spectacular, fun but inexperienced performance and mediocre sound. The main selling point for this boot is the number of..
Lees volledige recensie »

1979-10-05 - Cork door cornellazar gewaardeerd met

I love this show / recording. All the old, unreleased tunes are stellar Punk/New Wave and hint at what U2..
Lees volledige recensie »

1980-02-26 - Dublin door Bullet_Blue gewaardeerd met

The tracks that latter would be included on Boy have different lyrics or structures, so it's very interesting listening to..
Lees volledige recensie »


Various Dates

Er zijn 161 recensies geschreven door 61 fans.

1983-12-18 - London

Geschreven door partygirl65 - 4 maanden geleden

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at the box office on the night of the show. There were several acts playing that night doing one or two songs including Ian Dury and the Blockheads, The Style Council, Mari Wilson and the Wilsations, Mike Peters and Dave Sharp from The Alarm and finishing the night were U2. The audience was littered with celebrities and I found myself sitting next to Paul Eddington (Yes Minister) and Michael Palin at one point. As U2 came on stage I ran down the front so had a perfect front row seat. After U2 had done Knocking on Heavens Door with Mike Peters (Mike taught Bono how to play the song) U2 burst into New Years Day. The next thing I know is Bono is bending down with his arm out to me and I take his hand and he pulls me up on stage. Wow!! I am onstage with U2. In those days it was customary for Bono to pull up a girl onstage during 11 O'clock Tick Tock so this was totally unexpected. Bono gets me to sit down on a monitor onstage whilst performing the song and then sits next to me, puts his arm around me and continues to sing. It is an experience I will never forget and is still the best moment of my life... Thank you Bono
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2015-10-16 - London door ajr gewaardeerd met

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get..
Lees volledige recensie »

2011-06-24 - Glastonbury door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

The fact the band went out of there way, to perform at this festival, in the middle of their North..
Lees volledige recensie »

1979-02-00 - Dublin door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

Not a must-have, but an interesting look at U2's beginnings. For collectors of rare songs, this one has three unreleased..
Lees volledige recensie »