Onze gebruikers hebben in totaal 4,158 show recensies geschreven. Deze pagina is een geweldige manier om nieuwe of oude shows te ontdekken, vernieuw de pagina om weer nieuwe dingen te zien. De hoogste gewaardeerde shows zijn gebaseerd op shows met meer dan twee recensies. Je kunt ook een recensie schrijven als je bij een show bent geweest of er naar hebt geluisterd, we nodigen je uit om dat te doen!

Experience and Innocence tour

Er zijn 3 recensies geschreven door 3 fans.

2017-11-11 - London

Geschreven door Anam - 5 dagen geleden

Is there a man alive that could look as cool as Adam Clayton in that illustrated trench coat? I very much doubt it. 'Cool' was the thought for the evening on a perishingly cold Trafalgar Square and it felt a very long time since that sunny and warm July day at Twickenham.

Even so, the set list had a familiar feel to it, with Sunday Bloody Sunday and Pride opening proceedings, followed by a brace of new songs. Get Out of Your Own Way came across very well with shimmering guitar bolstered by powerful drums and bass and a rousing chorus. You're the Best Thing About Me's distinctive riff sounds like it has been around for years.

Things warmed up considerably during the trio of Joshua Tree Tour encores Beautiful Day, Elevation and Vertigo before One closed the main set in typically contemplative fashion. This was not a normal U2 show, however, and what followed was a re-run of Get Out of Your Own Way for a video shoot complete with protest signs in the radical spirit of Trafalgar Square demonstrations past. It's a great song and I felt very priviliged to see both its first and second live outings. It will surely be a staple in the 2018 setlist.

All in all an odd, non-gig, but great fun and well worth braving the elements. With the new record just weeks away, and a new tour just over the horizon, these are great days to be a U2 fan.

Eternal thanks to redpanda27 over at Zootopia. Go raibh míle maith agat, J.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:


Joshua Tree Tour 2017

Er zijn 220 recensies geschreven door 172 fans.

2017-07-29 - Amsterdam

Geschreven door Happy24 - 3 maanden geleden

Here is my report from the two Amsterdam concerts. I am quite late and it is probably impossible to write anything that hasn't been written many times before, but I feel like I need to write it all down for myself. I wanted to write a short review of the two gigs, but it turned out a bit differently :-)

Okay, let's get started. I have to start with the Friday evening, when the half secret video shoot took place. I arrived in Amsterdam on Friday at 2.25 pm. When U2 landed one hour later, I was still at the airport, which felt like a nice coincidence. I have registered for the video shoot happening, but didn't get the invitation. It didn't bother me at first, since the first info said it would start at 3 pm, but then, when I got to know it would start at 5.15 and where it would take place, I just kept on thinking about whether I should or should not go there even without the invitation. In the end I decided not to and went downtown, which made me think about it even more - the weather was bad, which made even such a beautiful city look gloomy and it had no atmosphere at all this time. I thought I might just as well had gone to the studios, since I didn't enjoy the downtown walk at all. So I am walking along Amstel, passing the opera house, these thought spinning in my head. Suddenly I am lying on the pavement and my leg hurts like hell. I don't recall any falling down and I am slowly picking myself up. There are people staring at me, obviously thinking I am drunk or something. I say I am okay, turn my head and realize I have overlooked a sign "STOP" in the middle of a pavement sticking half a meter up from the pavement. I had to laugh - yeah, I should really better stop before something worse happens - it somehow calmed me down - even though I bared my leg and got a big bruise, I was really lucky I didn't break it.

If I understand it correctly now, the actual video shoot didn't start until 9 pm and people were actually queuing there since 5.15. I am sure it must have been a blast, but looking back now, I was really exhausted and having those two concerts with long queuing ahead, I think it all actually happened the way it should.

I stayed in a hotel 5 minutes of walk from the ArenA, so later that the evening I went there to check the queue, which I knew started the previous day - 2,5 days before the concert! There were people sleeping in tents on the pavement (it was currently about 16 degrees and raining) and I was told that 230 people were in the queue so far, coming for the calls every 3 hours. As much as I love to be up in the front, I wasn't able to persuade myself to take part in this...I am too old for this...stuff. Well, I was surprised that most of the people in the tents were ladies older than me. Anyway, I had a plan to visit the Rembrandt house downtown the next morning and then join the queue, come what may.

The next morning the weather was even noticeably worse and I was actually in no mood for the gig. But when you are 1,5 an hour of flight from home, you just do what you planned to do. I went to see the Rembrandt house, which was excellent and the weather got somehow better. I had an early lunch and went to the queue. There were a lot of people, but it was not quite as bad as I expected. When we were let into the stadium, where I got at about 5.15, I actually got a very nice spot, which got way better as we all stood up at about 6.30 and moved towards the stage - I ended up in some 10th row, facing the Adam's spot on the main stage, a better place than I have actually hoped for. I was used to be in the 2nd or 3rd row on the I+E tour, but here, at a football stadium and with all the madness with the queue, I was just happy and now I was finally in the proper mood.

Noel Gallagher started to play at 7. I have never seen him before and even though I have only a general knowledge of the main Oasis hits and don't know any of his solo stuff, I was curious and looking forward to seeing him. Support bands are usually something one has to struggle through and survive and so Noel's band was one of the absolutely best support acts I have ever seen, but it really did feel as a support act and not as a gig of a rather big star. I guess that if you get up on such a huge stage without actually using it (okay, the screen on the right side was used, but still..) with only very basic lightning, it must feel that way. But they played very well, Noel sung great and I enjoyed the songs. So it was absolutely fine, but I can imagine that seeing a proper gig on a proper stage with proper lightning must be even better.

Most importantly - the sound was really good. Being first time in the ArenA and having read all those negative reviews, all agreeing on the ArenA having the worst acoustics in Europe, I was a bit worried, even though I knew about the acoustic adjustments that were adopted for gigs. I don't know how was the sound further back and on the stands (I read it was still really bad), but in front of the stage it was as good as one can get in a football stadium. And it was loooud! I was perfectly happy with it.

On with the show. One hour after Noel, at 9 p.m. U2 hit the stage. Since the first 4 songs are played on the B-stage, one doesn't get to see much from the place where I was, since one sees the band from behind and the B-stage is quite low, so it is difficult to see anything at all. But it is just time to jump up and down during Sunday Bloody Sunday and Pride, to enjoy New Year's Day and Bad (I have only heard Bad once before live, so this one was magical) and to wait for the band to move to the main stage, for the show to start properly :-) That happens really soon and we get the full Joshua Tree album. Now, it is impossible to write something new about it, so I guess I will just repeat what was said and written many times bore. One word - amazing. The live presentation of this 30 year old album is just amazing. It is such a consistent peace of music that holds together so well and the band does it a great justice 30 years after they recorded it. The songs from the first side have been played on most of the shows during the past 30 years, those are the "greatest hits," but hearing them in sequence and with those totally amazing Anton Corbijn's films on that huge and absolutely fabulous screen is something that makes you forget you have heard Streets, I Still Haven't Found What I am Looking For and With or Without You thousand times before, and you are just happy that you are at that precise place at that precise moment. Then comes the second side with all the "gems." Red Hill Mining Town - never played live before this tour, the most anxiously anticipated song - I though it was great, I loved Bono's vocals and even though I agree that it is somehow too clean and I would love The Edge to play guitar rather than keyboard, I enjoyed it a lot. Exit - probably the song all people love the most on this tour. I admit (don't throw stones at me) that I never cared much for this track on the album, but is amazing live and it was definitely one of the absolute highlights of the show. In God's country - that was the song that caught my ear most when I first bought the album 20 years ago. I never thought I would hear it live. Beautiful. Mothers Of Disappeared - Edge's guitar work, the stunning screen background, Bono's haunting vocals. Just...wow.

The band leaves the stage and comes back for the encores - well, 7 songs, so pretty much the last third of the show. They start with Miss Sarajevo and continue with Beautiful Day. One fan I talked to said he found it strange to play those two songs back to back - to play Miss Sarajevo with this heavy mood and message and then just kick into the party mode. Well, yeah, Miss Sarajevo comes before Beautiful Day, but it also comes after Mothers of Disappeared. There is the break of course, after MOD finishes, since it is the end of the Joshua Tree, but I think that it is more like with MS they say: "Okay, here is one more thing we need to get off our chest before the party starts." I think that the MOD - MS combo is really great and I disagree with all those who wrote, that Miss Sarajevo didn't work on this tour. It does. It does big time.

After Miss Sarajevo until the end of the show it is one big party. It starts with the Beautiful Day - Elevation - Vertigo sequence. Three songs that have been played to death, three songs most fans (including me) would agree that need to be put to rest at least for a while. I would not believe how those three songs would actually work on this tour. They all somehow got new energy. Beautiful Day in a new arrangement sounds great. The fans-organized balloons on the first night we beautiful and it obviously touched Bono. Elevation - everybody jumps. The Edge smiles and jumps - priceless. Vertigo - such energy, I guess the Vertigo Tour-like visuals play a big part in that.

In the end comes the Achtung Baby sequence - Mysterious Ways - Ultraviolet - One. The Edge finally plays the Mysterious Ways solo after 20 years! While the PopMart version still remains my favorite, this present one comes close second. As much as I love this song (the guitar part is absolutely out of this world), I thought it somehow didn't work on the I+E tour. It was such a pleasure to see this amazing version now. The first night closes with One. Again, one of my all-time-favorites. And again, the I+E stripped-down version mostly sung by crowd didn't do much for me, so it was nice to hear this "proper" version, which works perfectly even without Bono playing a guitar. And yeah, with the Hear Us Coming snippet!

So after the magnificent first show I felt like the second one would be a great bonus any way it would turn out. I kind of expected the queue for the second show not to be that crazy (though is started right after the first one ended, or was it even before?), but when I came to the stadium the next day at 3 p.m., I was really taken aback by how relatively few people were there. It was soooo easy. I went straight into the fence barrier, sat down and waited. Once inside the stadium I got a great spot of course, which again improved substantially once we got up - 4th row facing The Edge at the main stage - that's the dream :-)

The show itself was very similar to the first one in all aspects - setlist-wise, the performance, the atmosphere, I can't really say which one I enjoyed more, I really loved both. The setlist changes were scarce and predictable - we got A Sort Of Homecoming instead of Bad - the first and probably the last time I have heard this song live, so I was more than glad, since it really is one of my all-time-favorites, and while it is not as well known and so not such a crowd pleaser as Bad, it was fabulous. Of course, the price one has to pay is not having Bad in the setlist. Anyway, during the encores we didn't get Mysterious Ways, which is a pity, since I would have loved to hear it again, but then it was somehow given that there would be another song after One. I hoped for The Little Things, but when I saw Dallas bringing The Edge the Explorer, it was obvious that they would end with I Will Follow. I must admit, it was a little bit of a let down, since as much as IWF is a great song, I have heard it on several shows and felt like The Little Things would be way more special. Well, that was how I felt before the band kicked into the song. They stayed on the main stage and the whole place went totally nuts. The atmosphere was amazing during the whole show with the crowd singing and dancing all night, but with the first notes it shifted two gears up. The whole stadium was jumping, I can't recall whether I have ever witnessed a stronger crowd reaction. It was a magical ending really.

I stayed in Amsterdam the next day - went to the Anne Frank house, which was fantastic, I have stayed there for 3 hours, then walked around the town and in the afternoon I went to the Van Gogh museum, which was great as always (my 4th visit). When I went to the museum, I got off at the Weesperplein underground station, which is pretty much right next to the Amstel Intercontinental, where U2 had stayed. I passed it 3 or 4 times during the weekend, always stopped for 5-10 minutes. I didn't feel like waiting for hours for the band, I thought that if it was meant to be, then 5 minutes must be enough :-). Well, it was not meant to be. I thought the band left on Sunday after the concert, so this time I was surprised there were about 20 people outside the hotel. I went there and was told that they got a glimpse of The Edge just a while ago. It was half past three and I was about half an hour early for the Van Gogh Museum, so I decided to spend that time there, being sure, that there must be a reason why I set so early on my way to the museum. But again...it was not meant to be :-) Later somebody posted that The Edge was seen outside the Anne Frank house between 4 and 5 pm...

So during those 4 days I finally didn't get to meet anybody from the band (unlike Marcello - a Brazilian fan I stayed with in the hotel - who got his T-shirt signed by Bono and Adam and during the second show Bono gave him the harmonica he played on Trip) . True, I didn't put much effort to it, but... they landed before I left the airport, I was downtown when they did the video shoot, I passed their hotel several times (yeah, I would have to be really lucky if that happened without my waiting), I have visited the Anne Frank house before The Edge. Nevertheless I had a splendid time in Amsterdam and those two concerts...just WOOOWWW!
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2017-06-23 - Toronto door Hwy_Girl gewaardeerd met

“FULL CIRCLE”

A circle:
-a perfectly round shape
-a line that is curved so its ends meet and every point on the..
Lees volledige recensie »

2017-07-22 - Dublin door johnsms88 gewaardeerd met

I wasn't really sure what to expect in the run-up to his show... in a number of ways. It's not..
Lees volledige recensie »

2017-05-20 - Pasadena door ahn1991 gewaardeerd met

This was the first of two shows at the Rose Bowl, and the first two night stay of the tour...
Lees volledige recensie »


Innocence and Experience tour

Er zijn 284 recensies geschreven door 174 fans.

2015-11-07 - Glasgow

Geschreven door u2fancat - 2 jaren geleden

Hello, hello.. last U2 concert in Britain this year! After an amazing show the night before, I was hoping for great things.

Once inside, it was busier than the night before - I'd left an hour later. Unfortunately, this meant a really long queue for my burger, during which they started announcing that the concert would start in x amount of time, and would people please take their seats. I knew they were fibbing, but it was still unnerving, since I hadn't had a chance to order yet. Even when I had got my burger, they were still at it, so that I gulped it down and dashed in search of my entrance.

This time, I was seated on Level 2 (of 3 in total). There are escalators, but not many, so stairs it was - I found my entrance door, and asked the nice man where to go for my seat. He gestured upwards. Row T, it seemed, was third from the back of this section. But my seat was on the other side of the row, so rather than push past everyone (most people had taken their seats by now, it was well after 8), his advice was to go up to the walkway just at the top of that section, walk across and take the steps down on the other side.

Sensible advice, and up I went - a bit dubiously, as it was both high and steep, and I have a problem with steps. And these places never, never have handrails. Well, I made it up to the walkway, hurried across to the next steps.. and froze. A phobic's nightmare - I had to descend a steep flight of stairs, with no rail, and a long, uninterrupted view in front of me, not even a barrier at the end. "Oh shit!" I groaned, audibly. Well, the nice lady at the end of the back row heard me, understood the problem, and grabbed my arm to steady me - which got me down the first row. I managed to clamber - undignifiedly - down two more, and with no small amount of relief, excused myself to the people at the end and climbed into my row. Kicking over a drink container in my haste - I hope it was empty..

So yes, I was higher than the night before.. I found myself seated with two girls to my right who had Yorkshire accents by the sound of it, and were just thrilled to be there. You could tell by the spontaneous shrieking. One of them was examining the celebrity section with her zoom lens - and how gratifying it was that the celebrity seats were side-on to the vidiwall: worst seats in the house, for this show! Anyway, she spotted Jim Kerr through her lens, and was good enough to point him out to me - he was the one who was waving at the crowd, it seems. Those on the floor had spotted him too, and were waving back.

When People Have the Power started, as usual, I jumped up - well, rather carefully, given my elevated position! Yes, it did make me a bit woozy at first.. it was gratifying to see the people on both sides of me in my row do the same: particularly since ours seemed to be the only row nearby that was standing. Cue a night of terrific audience participation - hang the rest of our section, we in Row T inspired each other!

It was nice, particularly for the video sections, that the people in front of me didn't stand. I say this just as an observation - I'd have had no objection if they had, it was just handy if they didn't - but even if they had, the rake was so steep that you still had a good view. Actually, the girl behind me asked the woman behind whether she'd mind if she stood, and received the reply that why would she, when she'd be standing herself! In parts, it would've been nice if the people in front of me had stood.. when I was standing and they weren't, I was suffering some serious vertigo - and for once, I was glad not to be on the aisle.

The girl pulled onstage for Mysterious Ways was Elena, from Italy. During Bullet the Blue Sky, Bono has developed a habit of making paper planes and throwing them into the audience. During Pride the night before, someone threw one back at him. No such efforts tonight. :-)

During City of Blinding Lights, Bono - for the first time in ages - pulled a guy out of the audience and exchanged jackets with him, giving him his sunglasses. This impressed the girl to my left no end, who looked at me in amazement.. he returned his jacket to him later, remarking that the guy's phone was ringing.

Highlight of the night for me, and others, was Bad. They tend to finish their run in any given city with that, and 40 - this was obviously news to the girl with the zoom lens, who broke down when she heard the opening chords of Bad. She set me off not long after - it's a song with a lot of meaning for us longterm U2 fans. Towards the end of the song, Bono started collecting flags from the audience, finally clutching them all together in his fist - I hadn't realised before that that line went "like a burning flag". I saw Ireland, Poland, Argentina, Brazil, Belgium.. they were throwing them at him. I'm sure none of the owners took it personally when he flung them from him at the end of the song - he's never been one for flags, and we know it.

40 finished the night, with the crowd in fine voice. Even after the lights came up, and Simple Minds started to play over the pa, the crowd took up the refrain of 40 again. And the girl to my left turned to me, and the Yorkshire girls to my right, and in an American accent, thanked us profusely for being so enthusiastic - she'd thought she'd be the only one. Turned out this was her 21st U2 concert. She was lucky - this was the concert of the tour so far, for me at least. If the night before had been special, this was transcendent. Made by the size of the venue, as well as the devotion of the crowd.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2015-11-03 - London door u2fancat gewaardeerd met

Ah, the very last U2 show in London this year! As Bono said, they rather like being the house band...
Lees volledige recensie »

2015-10-30 - London door u2fancat gewaardeerd met

So, I ended the week with another U2 concert! I swung by home first - I wanted to shop on..
Lees volledige recensie »

2015-11-27 - Dublin door u2fancat gewaardeerd met

This close to the front, I figured I wouldn't be bothered by vexatious people wanting me to sit - and..
Lees volledige recensie »


U2 360° Tour

Er zijn 725 recensies geschreven door 365 fans.

2009-09-24 - East Rutherford

Geschreven door EDDMB - 8 jaren geleden

I really enjoyed this show.MUSE were great both nights opening for the boys.I liked the fact the band mixed up the set.They played alot of the same songs, but the beginning of the show actually had me guessing.Once the band got to TUF it was exactly the same as the night before.And no Bad.That was a bit of a bummer.The only lowlight is ending the show with MOS.Seriously,half of Giants Stadium left during the song,on BOTH nights.The band should end the show with ANYTHING other than that song.I think an encore of One,WOWY and All I Want Is You would be fantastic.Anyway..my family and I had a great time.Ultra Violet and Stay(even though Bono was all over the place with the lyrics), were my highlights..loved the show guys....Cheers.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2011-06-18 - Anaheim door ahn1991 gewaardeerd met

It's my first U2 concert, so how can't I give this a 5! But seriously, it's a great bootleg. The..
Lees volledige recensie »

2009-06-30 - Barcelona door patou2 gewaardeerd met

Very good opening show !! You must have this bootleg. During One Bono get lost , so they must stop..
Lees volledige recensie »

2009-08-18 - Glasgow door Anam gewaardeerd met

When U2 played Glasgow in 2009, it was less a '360 degree' experience and more a '220 degree' one. As..
Lees volledige recensie »


Vertigo Tour

Er zijn 420 recensies geschreven door 126 fans.

2006-02-12 - Monterrey

Geschreven door Bloodraven - 2 jaren geleden

20 years of my life waiting to see them, and this is what I got.

The crowd was disappointing, even before getting to the stadium, maybe it's just anecdotal evidence, but there were a lot of people going because it would be cool to say "I went to see U2" even if they didn't know nothing but a couple of songs.

In the stadium, around me I was the only weirdo singing and screaming and jumping while everyone else just stared me from their own seats as if we were at some symphonic orchestra instead of at a U2 show.

In my mind it was just a "not-so-awesome" experience, but when I downloaded and listened to the bootleg it came back to me and no. It was not just "not-so-awesome". It was terrible.
The bootleg is even worse than reality with the few guys around the mic talking through the whole show.

Cielito Lindo was a bad choice itself for Bad, but it was worse that it was the only thing people decided to sing along. It looked like they didn't cared about Bad or anything else on the concert, oh but they can sing Cielito Lindo. I had forgotten how embarrased I felt at the moment (after the initial couple of seconds of "oh, that's cool!" when Bono started it), but the bootleg reminded it to me.

Finally, even after Love And Peace or Else had already started, the guys near the microphone in the bootleg are still discussing and betting that it's Desire what they're about to play.
I said finally because that's all that I could take and deleted it on the spot. Didn't even finished the song.

It was so bad I would find it funny if I hadn't been there.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2005-06-18 - London door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

Its great..I would give it a 5 but..the 3 missing songs make me take off a notch.This is a MUST..
Lees volledige recensie »

2006-03-02 - Buenos Aires door patou2 gewaardeerd met

I was there , that amazing night. I'll try to be objective . Bono s voice is not the best..
Lees volledige recensie »

2005-06-27 - Dublin door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

For me, the best show in the European Vertigo leg and a great setlist. This show was Show Of The..
Lees volledige recensie »


Elevation Tour

Er zijn 331 recensies geschreven door 88 fans.

2001-10-13 - Hamilton

Geschreven door mattfromcanada - 7 maanden geleden

As this was my first GA experience, I took the day off with my brother and stood in line in the early October weather. It wasn’t that cold out, but as we were in one spot for much of the day a chill could catch you. Fortunately, that was made up for by the wonderful experience that is a U2 GA line. I’ve had 6 GA shows and have only ever been disappointed in one of them. My brother and I have always loved U2, and somehow during our teenage years (late 90’s) ‘Out Of Control’ became our signature driving song. When we got in, the Heart was full so we parked ourselves just to the right of the tip of the Heart. So when they finished New Year’s Day and Out Of Control started thumping….well if you’ve experienced it, you know. To top it off, Bono pulled a fan on-stage old school (way to go Arun!), we got Angel Of Harlem, and my personal favourite, Bad. Hear Bad live that close on a GA experience is probably in my top 5 U2 moments. Again, if you’ve experienced it. A surprise cover of ‘What’s Going On’ followed in the encore which U2 just somehow made their own, and we were treated to the ‘Shine Like Stars’ tag on WOWY. Again, the GA crowd knew what a treat that was. I don’t know if U2 will ever come back to Hamilton, I don’t know if they know. This was to date, the only show ever in Hamilton. There were 18,000 luck fans who get to say they were there, and I'm proud to have been one of them.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2001-10-27 - New York door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

From the outside, this is simply the best Elevation concert and the most special one. It was way more important..
Lees volledige recensie »

2001-11-18 - Las Vegas door WojBhoy gewaardeerd met

I like this show, I won't beat around the bush on that - sure, I wouldn't say it comes close..
Lees volledige recensie »

2001-10-25 - New York door oddjob102 gewaardeerd met

I was at this concert. It was my first time back in NYC after 9/11, and you could feel the..
Lees volledige recensie »


Popmart

Er zijn 339 recensies geschreven door 106 fans.

1998-03-21 - Johannesburg

Geschreven door nfsmulder - 9 maanden geleden

Review written on 22 March, 1998.

Saturday night i was rather deaf and got in bed @ 2am - but sooooooo excited. A dream came true. There’s this ultra marathon in South Africa - 90 kilometres (60 miles?). Once the winner commented looking @ the crowd still finishing in the heat 7 hours after him, that they experience the true spirit of the event. So was the U2 concert. 35 metres from the front or was it 50? Seeing the screen beautifully, but having to stretch to see the stars we wanted to thrill kiss, hold, &kill :-). Afterwards smelling from beer, nicotine, marijuana and dripping from sweat, but happy after a truly spiritual experience. It was the best worship of God I ever had (even better than church where I lead it) when we pleaded with God in 40 and throughout.

The event was broadcast semi-live over national television. Semi because the show started 9:30 and on tv @ 10 so they could squeze commercials in - so popmartish :-).

Looking 2 the show afterwards on tv I got the best of both worlds. Live the vibe and crowd…..tv the quality and some moments you missed in the crowd.

I taped it from my VCR to tape - great listen in the car. Anybody wanna trade? I need Achtung baby & Zooropa on CD.

What a mess afterwards. Interesting - selling beer in plastic bottles - good thing :-). Were there from 5:00. Tickets (ours) cost 170 rand each for me and my youngest brother - I made him the U2 fan year’s ago, so he bought the tickets. We sang “how long to sing this song probably for 5 minutes and heard some music and went wild!!!

But that wasn’t them. Just a cd. Then: looking for baby Jesus under the trash.

U2 - thanx for blessing us. We’ll pray for you guys. Peace to you and fans all around the world.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1997-04-25 - Las Vegas door ric gewaardeerd met

the now legendary (among U2 fans) first night of the popmart tour makes for a very uncomfortable listening experience...! ..
Lees volledige recensie »

1997-08-28 - Leeds door ric gewaardeerd met

absolutely the best popmart gig in my opinion - there are a couple of other shows that might be considered..
Lees volledige recensie »

1997-08-28 - Leeds door pablothewizard gewaardeerd met

It was raining heavily when we arrived and it never relented all day and evening. Proper lumpy Yorkshire rain too,..
Lees volledige recensie »


ZOO TV

Er zijn 501 recensies geschreven door 133 fans.

1992-11-10 - San Diego

Geschreven door cesar_garza01 - 3 jaren geleden

A great Outside Broadcast show, just after the 92 U.S. Presidential elections. Bono talks about that before and after ISHFWILF.
Let me start with the bad: the sound is not that good during When Love Comes To Town, we hear the audience better than the band in that song. Bono also had some problems at the beginning of MW and then with the harmonica in RTSS. I'm not sure if this is bad, but Edge's solo in MW started in a weird way, but he recovered quickly.
Still, there are a lot of reasons to listen to this bootleg:
- It's ZooTV Outside Broadcast! All songs were performed quite good. Gotta love the Mirrorball Man and his "I have a vision" speech. It was particularly good that day, with the elections and B. Clinton becoming president.
-The new source has very good sound overall.
- UTEOTW was excellent. This performance later appeared in the Alternative NRG: Greenpeace Compilation album.
- Bono changed or improvised the lyrics in a lot of songs, like One, Satellite Of Love, BTBS. The intro of NYD is very unique, I loved it.
- WTSHNN was excellent, especially at the end with Bono singing the high notes beautifully.
- I'm not a fan of ZooTV SBS, but it was pretty good that day.

EDIT: I previously stated that this boot was incomplete, but it has been updated now and luckily for us, no song is missing.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1992-03-13 - Worcester door Breemsicle gewaardeerd met

Worth hearing. It's a really fun concert, but the poor sound makes it a difficult listen.

Highlights:

Even Better than the..
Lees volledige recensie »

1993-06-04 - Munich door MattG gewaardeerd met

My ratings were pretty much consistent 3.5's all the way across the board, and here's why. This show wasn't terrible...
Lees volledige recensie »

1992-06-11 - Stockholm door germcevoy gewaardeerd met

I couldn't be arsed posting on this show because there isn't a lot that can be said about this show..
Lees volledige recensie »


Lovetown

Er zijn 175 recensies geschreven door 72 fans.

1989-12-01 - Osaka

Geschreven door nickbibby - 7 jaren geleden

I like Lovetown because it throws up some real surprise sets and this tops the lot. Opening by playing over a recorded Stand By Me, with Edge singing a whole verse to himself, followed by Pride and New Years Day was a shock! I personally enjoy some proper rock towards the end of a concert and so was delighted to hear All Long The Watchtower so late on

The major highlight for me is the run from MLK - One Tree Hill - Streets - Gloria - Help - Bad. All wonderful songs on there own, but the way they were put together here is a prime example of how U2 can really pound your senses and emotions in a live show. The segues between One Tree Hill - Streets - Gloria make you wonder why they haven't continued to play those three songs as a staple of every show.

The other highlight was Slow Dancing. A very pretty song, played tenderly.

Disappointments for me begin and end with Pride. It's not one of my favourites to start with but when they put their absolute heart and soul into it I feel it just lifts the song to another level. With Pride being almost first up I thought this would be the case, but it's as if it's used just as a warm-up and they only really get going when New Years Day kicks in. Shame.

All in all it's a boot that should probably be in every fans' collection.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1989-12-11 - Paris door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

What a way to start Lovetown in Europe! The crowd was already going nuts even during the PA songs and..
Lees volledige recensie »

1989-10-14 - Melbourne door PageU2 gewaardeerd met

One of many shows on this leg of Lovetown and it's an awesome show: Bono and the boys give it..
Lees volledige recensie »

1989-12-18 - Amsterdam door MattG gewaardeerd met

Nothing I'll be revisiting. Check out some of the earliest Lovetown shows or a Point Depot show to really capitalize..
Lees volledige recensie »


Joshua Tree Tour

Er zijn 293 recensies geschreven door 95 fans.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

Geschreven door bodoheil - 2 jaren geleden

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1987-09-12 - Philadelphia door viridian1 gewaardeerd met

First concert I ever went to age 17. I haven't missed a U2 tour since. Listening to this was like..
Lees volledige recensie »

1987-09-28 - New York door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

I think this gig has flown under the radar.I know it was a long time ago,but this is classic U2.No..
Lees volledige recensie »

1987-10-20 - Iowa City door IAFAN gewaardeerd met

This was my first U2 show. Met Bono before the show. Hours before they were warming up and..
Lees volledige recensie »


Conspiracy Of Hope

Er zijn 21 recensies geschreven door 10 fans.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Geschreven door MattG - 7 jaren geleden

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

Er zijn 248 recensies geschreven door 68 fans.

1984-11-06 - Glasgow

Geschreven door Edi - 16 dagen geleden

We were all young. The place was crammed. U2 were already massive in Glasgow by the end of 1982 and had played bigger venues (the legendary Apollo). In 1984 it was a difficult ticket to get.

The Barrowlands is essentially a dancehall with a spring-loaded wooden ballroom floor but quite a low ceiling. This all made for much 'bouncy-bouncy' and the very definition of a sweat-filled room! Condensation was literally running down the walls and dripping from the ceiling (I even remember it dripping from my elbows !). You could wring it your t-shirt.

The Watherboys were support who were also very big at the time& they did sing of course All of the Moon !

The energy in the crowd and from the band was incredible. New songs from TUF and older songs went down a storm. Jim Kerr and Charlie Burchill (from Simple Minds, local Glasgow boys and friends with U2) were at the back and the crowd all spotted them & sung to them. (Bono a month later in January 1985 joined the Minds on-stage at the same venue for New Gold Dream which blew the roof off).

We only had tickets for the first night but it was so good we went back up the next day and queued up for on-the-door tickets with probably 100 or more others. I remember a scuffle broke out in the queue as some people started singing sectarian/Irish Celtic songs. They were quickly shouted down by others stating '...we are U2 fans, we are not here for that, the band would not want it, we are better than that'! We got in again having barely recovered from the previous night dehydration.

...and U2 brought the house down again.

A mere 7 months later they would conquer the world at Live Aid and everyone would know what all the fuss was about.

...and 34 years later I still want to get tickets for the next tour in 2018 !

Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1985-04-18 - Worcester door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

One of the most special UF shows and the best setlist of the tour! At the beginning Bono said they..
Lees volledige recensie »

1984-08-31 - Wellington door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

A very inspired show during weird circumstances. Bono had forgotten his guitar riffs and he had to buy his own..
Lees volledige recensie »

1985-01-31 - Cologne door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Fantastic show that will always be remembered by the best version of ''40'' ever: more than 16 minutes! And..
Lees volledige recensie »


War Tour

Er zijn 169 recensies geschreven door 57 fans.

1983-05-05 - Boston

Geschreven door cesar_garza01 - 2 jaren geleden

First of all, the FM broadcast is NOT from this concert, it is actually from the show next day, so I think this is the first proper review of the show. And what a show! The band feed from the Irish-Bostonian vibe in the house and they gave it all. The main highlight of this boot is the last performance ever of Tomorrow. If you are a Tomorrow "completionist" like me, you must get this. I don't know why it wasn't played regularly. Another excellent performance was Two Hearts, with the Let's Twist Again part extended. 11 O'Clock was excellent as well. I'm a sucker for the Drowning Man snippet and the final solo is amazing. In Surrender Bono invoked the spirit of Michael Jackson and it was great. I liked the Brick/ A Day Without Me combo too. There's an unlisted snippet of Send In The Clowns in Electric Co. Perhaps the only song I can't consider good is Party Girl. They were still playing with it and it's not the version we know.
Funnily enough, Bono did mistakes between songs, like saying "It's great to be back in NY" (WTF?) or introducing NYD as Two Hearts.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1982-12-06 - London door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

A must-have. Excellent quality bootleg, probably the best I've heard from the early tours.

Highlights:
-Surrender (best performance, somewhat different than the..
Lees volledige recensie »

1983-06-01 - San Francisco door fleavox gewaardeerd met

The show is plagued by tech problems but was oddly funny, specially after first 6 songs!!

Highlights: Out of Control..
Lees volledige recensie »

1982-12-02 - Manchester door bowenjaybee gewaardeerd met

This was one of a handful of U2 bootlegs that I got hold of from a record fair in..
Lees volledige recensie »


October Tour

Er zijn 108 recensies geschreven door 29 fans.

1982-07-04 - Werchter

Geschreven door cesar_garza01 - 2 jaren geleden

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave a hell of a show. Even if Bono's voice was not good, starting with Gloria they won the crowd over. The Brick/A Day Without Me is one of the best here. Other highlights: Rejoice, 11 O'Clock Tick Tock with Give Peace A Chance, and Fire to close the show. During Out Of Control, Edge trolled us by playing the intro to Twilight. Give us the full song lads! A must-listen if you like this period of the band.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1982-03-17 - New York door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had..
Lees volledige recensie »

1982-01-26 - Dublin door daymo1202 gewaardeerd met

A good friend of mine was at this show and was billed as U2's homecoming show in Dublin in January..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-08-16 - Slane door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

An interesting show. Not great, but not as bad as the band cracked it up to be. Many of the..
Lees volledige recensie »


Boy Tour

Er zijn 117 recensies geschreven door 42 fans.

1981-03-18 - San Jose

Geschreven door Dystopian45 - 1 jaar geleden

As I remember it, this was a free show or cost next to nothing to attend. It was held in the student union ballroom of San Jose State University. This room was built to be earthquake proof and the floor was suspended on something like springs. When the floor got packed and the music started and people started moving in time with the music the floor started to act like a trampoline. No kidding. If you timed your jump you could launch yourself 3 to 4 feet off the floor. They had to have crew guys hold the P.A. system in place as everything started to wobble. I saw XTC, Huey Lewis, Fabulous Thunderbirds and more in this room and all the shows were amazing with a very intimate vibe. I miss those days.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

Excellent early show, with just about all the Boy Tour material represented. The band are energetic and really doing a..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-01-24 - Glasgow door BigGiRL gewaardeerd met

From Pimm Jal de la Parra, U2 Live - A Concert Documentry:

Before Twilight Bono points to the 'Boy' backdrop.
..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-05-15 - San Francisco door mookymookins gewaardeerd met

This is one of the best Boy tour bootlegs around and has all the songs you'd expect to hear at..
Lees volledige recensie »


Early Days

Er zijn 33 recensies geschreven door 21 fans.

1980-02-26 - Dublin

Geschreven door Bullet_Blue - 1 jaar geleden

The tracks that latter would be included on Boy have different lyrics or structures, so it's very interesting listening to this "kindergarten" version of the first record of the guys. The rare pieces are not that great hidden gems, maybe just Cartoon World. Even some rarely played songs, such as Shadows And Tall Trees or Another Time, Another Place, justify their exclusions from the setlists of the early days.
Highlights: Silver Linings (I adore the parts that later would be "say so, say so" - nice Edge's arpeggio), Cartoon World and Out Of Control.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1979-10-05 - Cork door cornellazar gewaardeerd met

I love this show / recording. All the old, unreleased tunes are stellar Punk/New Wave and hint at what U2..
Lees volledige recensie »

1979-10-05 - Cork door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

One of the earliest known bootlegs and a fun one to listen to. As many have said, only here you..
Lees volledige recensie »

1979-10-05 - Cork door LikeASong gewaardeerd met

One of the first recordings that exist from the band in its earliest stages. Just for that, this concert should..
Lees volledige recensie »


Various Dates

Er zijn 171 recensies geschreven door 66 fans.

2015-10-16 - London

Geschreven door ajr - 2 jaren geleden

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get tickets to the live broadcast of tfi Friday in London - I did just that.

tfi Friday launched the weekend for millions of fully signed up lads and ladettes back in the 90's. Brash and soaked in alcohol it was fast paced and at times funny, but always high energy.

Brought back off the shelf for a short run this year it jumped back into living rooms, now owned by the 90's lads and ladettes, on Friday past with U2 as the main draw.

So fast forward 20 hours and I am now stood outside a very small and now defunct theatre with a Production wrist band on my wrist and knowledge that the next two hours will be special.

The venue maybe had 150 in the performance area - a mix of 20 U2 fans, a handful of 40something women reliving their early twenties as Take That fans (for they were on the show as well) and I guess some members of the public. It was a strange crowd, but with the TV lighting it made for a hot sweaty club vibe.

Showtime - Raised By Wolves - the B Man is 6 feet away giving it everything. The sound was incredible and the lads played as if their very lives that night depended on it. I'm no writer, so there is no way that I can give you any understanding of how incredible it was to be in the room. Bizarrely, watching over the weekend on the extended playback, it came across as the worlds greatest live band did an ok job! By now you will have seen it for yourself, and I guess it plays back to way back when when U2 became the only band to ever go DOWN the charts after an appearance on Top of The Pops (UK TV chart show).

A very unenlightening interview later in the show away up on the theatre gallery was nothing more than swapping banter between host and band, and hosts Son and hosts Mother! That didn't matter the band weren't here to chat and we weren't there to listen to them talk!

They closed the TV broadcast with Vertigo. Edge's guitar sound taking our heads off! Song for Someone carried all the emotion and then the "This is our first single.." intro and a version of Out of Control that will be with me until I am no more. Just incredible. The room was too small to hold the energy! Bonotised with champagne and it was thank you, goodnight!

Dallas, Sammy, Jake and Stuart left to pick up the pieces as U" have left the building.

Insane evening - thank you to all who made it happen.

The venue was the Cochrane Theatre, London.

I was told that the tour will play indoors and outdoors next year, and then follow the yellow brick road to Aus/NZ in 2017........ Here's hoping!
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2011-10-15 - Hollywood door ahn1991 gewaardeerd met

Wow. Just wow. Of the little hype this act was given, the band certainly came out and hit it out..
Lees volledige recensie »

1983-12-18 - London door partygirl65 gewaardeerd met

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at..
Lees volledige recensie »

2011-06-24 - Glastonbury door patssox95 gewaardeerd met

WOW,wow,wow,wow! This is the best bootleg on this site. i know everyone's favorite show(s) is on you were..
Lees volledige recensie »