Onze gebruikers hebben in totaal 4,037 show recensies geschreven. Deze pagina is een geweldige manier om nieuwe of oude shows te ontdekken, vernieuw de pagina om weer nieuwe dingen te zien. De hoogste gewaardeerde shows zijn gebaseerd op shows met meer dan twee recensies. Je kunt ook een recensie schrijven als je bij een show bent geweest of er naar hebt geluisterd, we nodigen je uit om dat te doen!

Joshua Tree Tour 2017

Er zijn 123 recensies geschreven door 103 fans.

2017-05-21 - Pasadena

Geschreven door bushido529 - 1 maand geleden

I really loved the show. Although there was little things i didn't like and I'm not planning on talking about it. It was a great treat to see The Joshua Tree album played in full and sequence. Especially Red Hill Mining Town. Also seeing them perform a unreleased track from their forthcoming album. What makes it special is that the song may be completely different when it's officially released. I give this show a 4 out of 5. The reason I took a star out was due to U2 dropping A Sort of Homecoming. Like come on, there wasn't a valid reason. Yet Elevation stays. And the horrible audience my friend and I was around with. Jeez these people were buzz kills.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2017-06-18 - Philadelphia door Larva gewaardeerd met

Day started with a whirlwind tour of Philly alongside my wife and our two oldest friends. Saw the Liberty..
Lees volledige recensie »

2017-06-20 - Landover door Hoosier2012 gewaardeerd met

I was #96 in the GA line, so show day was a loooooong day, but it was so worth it...
Lees volledige recensie »

2017-06-20 - Landover door Jinx4 gewaardeerd met

I'm not sure how much of a fan I am of the GA system in place on this tour.. but..
Lees volledige recensie »


Innocence and Experience tour

Er zijn 282 recensies geschreven door 172 fans.

2015-12-06 - Paris

Geschreven door LocalHero - 1 jaar geleden

I'm french and I do not write properly in English, sorry.

Paris, Sunday, December 6, 2015. A fabulous concert, amazing, energetic and full of emotions. Although the sound was too loud, it will be a great memory. When will the next. More details below.

Details :

2015, I know and listen to U2 since the beginning of their adventure but I have never seen them in concert. WHY, when I've seen dozens of live bands ????

I am a musician (trumpet). Around me, I was proud to announce that for the first time in my life I was going to attend a U2 concert.

On the evening of Friday, November 13, 2015, around 22:30, after a repetiton, I received a text message from my sister who wrote : "Watch the news on television, this is very serious."

In front of my TV, I was at first incredulous and then I realized that the situation was terrible in Paris. People were killed at random in various public places in the capital. I could not go to bed before knowing the outcome of the hostage-taking in "Le Bataclan". Late at night, it was the horrible announcement ; dozens of deaths were reported. I cried.

Then I thought about the U2 concert which I had to attend on November 14. I thought : "I can not go. I can not partying. I have to respect the victims. U2 will definitely cancel his upcoming concerts in Paris. How to go on stage the day after such a tragedy ?"

Soon after, U2 decided to cancel the concerts on 14 and 15 November. My first time at a U2 show was compromised. Yet it was not that I care about. I can still see them again as dozens of victims of the attacks will never be able to attend any show.

A few days later, I thought : "Life must go must go back to the theaters".

The week after the attacks, U2 provided postponing concerts in the 6 and 7 December. While containing my joy (always a thought for the victims, some of my region), I was looking forward to the announcement.

On December 6, at 12:30, with two friends and my wife, we take the road to Paris. We reserved parking in the basement that we find easily.

14:15, my friends decide to go directly to the Bercy Arena take their place in the queue. My wife and I go to "Le Bataclan" and "Place of the Republic" to recollect us. It was a very intense and very emotional moment.

16:30, we finally join our friends who are in the queue, doubling the spectators who kindly let us pass.

We met with youngs of Lyon. We share with them our different musical tastes, different experiences of concerts, our impressions of the quality of concert halls ... We eat our sandwishes.

18.30 Finally, the queue advance ; we lose sight of Lyon. The Arena "swallows" gradually spectators. We are among the first to access the pit. We sit on the edge of the "Red Zone" on the side "Adam Clayton."

While my friends and my wife will buy a souvenir T-shirt, I discover the facilities for the show. U2 machinery is worthy of Arras Main Square Festival or a show of Pink Floyd (or almost). Is the promise of a great show ?

I spotted the t-shirt "Nous n'avons pas peur - Paris" but the French flag is printed upside down. I give up to buy it, I will draw one myself.

We drink a few beers while listening to the background music, the sound is too loud. I protect my ears with plugs. Our tip to buy beer without queuing is to ask a Spanish viewer installed in the "red zone" order them. He accepts, it's very nice of him, his girlfriend sulks a bit anyway.

The pit fills up much faster than the seats that remain for a long time almost all empty. The thought crosses my : "people have requested reimbursement of places after the attacks." But no, it was not until the approach of the beginning of the concert that people take up their seats. In the distance, we recognize Mireille d'Arc among the VIPs.

Before the U2 concert, on stage, "models" (spectators?) Are positioned to help technicians with sensors to perform calibrations cameras to capture the spectacle.

Other technicians, those for the lights, are winched to projectors to fifteen meters above the pit. These are Americans. We discuss with them just before their climb.

The background music does finish more. I do not notice that "People have the power" by Patti Smith is introducing the show. When it becomes obvious that public clamor announces the arrival of Bono "At the other side of the Stage".

It is 20:30. Bono begins : "Vive la France ... Vive l'Europe." It gives me chills. And THE SHOW begins with "Miracle" in chorus brilliantly taken by a public impressive. It rallied as one man is unique, indescribable, unforgettable, stunning. Bono is moved, I feel this. I am happy to be here, I'm in show ("Merde aux cons").

The following titles continue to set an amazing atmosphere in the arena. Everyone is standing, claps hands, sing ... takes part in the show. Bono becomes the leader of the audience. "Bonjour Paris ... Ce soir nous sommes tous parisiens … Si vous aimez la liberté, Paris est votre ville". This day is special for spectators and for which U2 had announced a few days earlier, "We will give the best on 6 and 7 December in Paris."

The show is beautifully orchestrated and offers different atmospheres : energy, strength, memories, melancholy, anger, rebellion ... hope.

Brigitte, a spectator invited by Bono on stage, is to the height of the show. She is in harmony with the scene : black jeans, yellow sweater, yellow flower in her hair and a small French flag. She impresses the audience and Bono by her boldness (she gives a kiss to the four guys), spontaneity ("I'm from Paris, the best city of the world"), her joy to be there (she dances and films the show).

The success of the show is also based on visual effects and very successful lights. The giant screen, through which Bono and the rest of the group walks, gives him a unique dimension. This is unheard of. Bono does not mince words, does not hide his ideas. He illustrates "Welcome to The Refugees" by a very strong image : the stars of the European flag are replaced by drowned wearing a yellow vest floating in water.

The most moving tribute U2 in memory of the victims of November 13 happens to encores. The huge central screen, which crosses right through Bercy, becomes blue, white, red, shows the logo of peace and the names of 130 dead people on 13 November. Bono sings in French a few verses of "Ne me quitte pas" by Jacques Brel.

Bono also invited at the American rocker Patti Smith, has since Friday in Paris for two concerts in connection with the climate conference for a "People Have The Power" in energetic conclusion of a concert rich in color, and videos decibels.

Bono on stage and his three buddies actually give the best of themselves. I feel them very concentrated, very applied. They exchange glances with each other to play better together. They are very friendly and close to their audience. Bono appreciates the clamor and sometimes he does not know what to say. He is sincere. U2 is a very large group.

Very impressive, extraordinary. Why didn't i ever attended one of their concerts ?
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2015-05-30 - Inglewood door bcwgobuffs gewaardeerd met

So far starters, let’s put this review into context. LA 530 was my 18th or so show since 1983..
Lees volledige recensie »

2015-11-24 - Dublin door u2fancat gewaardeerd met

Well, what a difference it makes to arrive early! The corridors were practically deserted, and I was soon able to..
Lees volledige recensie »

2015-11-28 - Dublin door u2fancat gewaardeerd met

Not as many people looking for tickets tonight - unlike last night, where we had the guy mimicking the homeless,..
Lees volledige recensie »


U2 360° Tour

Er zijn 724 recensies geschreven door 364 fans.

2009-09-24 - East Rutherford

Geschreven door EDDMB - 7 jaren geleden

I really enjoyed this show.MUSE were great both nights opening for the boys.I liked the fact the band mixed up the set.They played alot of the same songs, but the beginning of the show actually had me guessing.Once the band got to TUF it was exactly the same as the night before.And no Bad.That was a bit of a bummer.The only lowlight is ending the show with MOS.Seriously,half of Giants Stadium left during the song,on BOTH nights.The band should end the show with ANYTHING other than that song.I think an encore of One,WOWY and All I Want Is You would be fantastic.Anyway..my family and I had a great time.Ultra Violet and Stay(even though Bono was all over the place with the lyrics), were my highlights..loved the show guys....Cheers.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2011-07-20 - East Rutherford door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

Loved it.A great way to end the 360 tour for me.The band played a great show this night.They were all..
Lees volledige recensie »

2011-06-18 - Anaheim door ahn1991 gewaardeerd met

It's my first U2 concert, so how can't I give this a 5! But seriously, it's a great bootleg. The..
Lees volledige recensie »

2009-09-12 - Chicago door bpt3 gewaardeerd met

From getting in line at 6am to the end of Moment of Surrender, I'll never forget this first show. Bono..
Lees volledige recensie »


Vertigo Tour

Er zijn 420 recensies geschreven door 126 fans.

2005-09-17 - Toronto

Geschreven door haytrain - 8 jaren geleden

Show Highlights:
This really goes without saying, but the Mofo/Discotheque sequence really steals the show. In fact, it's the whole reason why I chose this show for this week's BRT. Great little number, even if it was pretty sloppy.
Bono's in a great mood the whole show....laughing and cracking jokes. Many of which are actually funny!
Drums at the end of "The Ocean"....and I pretty much always hate that song.
Vertigo was surprisingly good.
Certain snippets (Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band/Please/Relax)
Eddie Vedder singing "Ol' Man River"
Bono reading "Have a glass of water!" from the teleprompter before SYCMIOYO


Show Lowlights:
Certain Snippets (Black Hills of Crap-koda)
As much as I love Africa, I've never been a big fan of making it the sole emphasis of this "Streets." Tonight's version seemed a bit over-the-top in this regard. That being said, at least it seemed to cut down on the intro into "One."
Bad sound and missing chunks of good songs (COBL, OMR)

Overall:
This bootleg isn't ever going to be remembered for it's sound quality, but it will be remembered for being loaded with snippets and one of the few Vertigo-tour performances of Discotheque. If you love the Vertigo versions of this song, it's worth getting this show just to hear it performed. It's also a great show worth checking out if you don't mind IEMs and you want to hear Bono having fun during the entire show.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2005-09-21 - Chicago door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

In this show even the standard Vertigo songs shine: one of the best Electric Co. (there's a See Me, Feel..
Lees volledige recensie »

2005-05-26 - Boston door MattG gewaardeerd met

Great, great show. Really captures some energy. The setlist is really perfect, with some great performances of songs that didn't..
Lees volledige recensie »

2005-06-09 - Brussels door fleavox gewaardeerd met

Well... as I said before, this is most for collectors, but good intro of New Year's Day (you can hear..
Lees volledige recensie »


Elevation Tour

Er zijn 328 recensies geschreven door 87 fans.

2001-10-13 - Hamilton

Geschreven door mattfromcanada - 3 maanden geleden

As this was my first GA experience, I took the day off with my brother and stood in line in the early October weather. It wasn’t that cold out, but as we were in one spot for much of the day a chill could catch you. Fortunately, that was made up for by the wonderful experience that is a U2 GA line. I’ve had 6 GA shows and have only ever been disappointed in one of them. My brother and I have always loved U2, and somehow during our teenage years (late 90’s) ‘Out Of Control’ became our signature driving song. When we got in, the Heart was full so we parked ourselves just to the right of the tip of the Heart. So when they finished New Year’s Day and Out Of Control started thumping….well if you’ve experienced it, you know. To top it off, Bono pulled a fan on-stage old school (way to go Arun!), we got Angel Of Harlem, and my personal favourite, Bad. Hear Bad live that close on a GA experience is probably in my top 5 U2 moments. Again, if you’ve experienced it. A surprise cover of ‘What’s Going On’ followed in the encore which U2 just somehow made their own, and we were treated to the ‘Shine Like Stars’ tag on WOWY. Again, the GA crowd knew what a treat that was. I don’t know if U2 will ever come back to Hamilton, I don’t know if they know. This was to date, the only show ever in Hamilton. There were 18,000 luck fans who get to say they were there, and I'm proud to have been one of them.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2001-07-21 - Turin door clover68 gewaardeerd met

Maybe I’m too biased about this night. Some issues don’t ruin at all what was a perfect special magic night,..
Lees volledige recensie »

2001-10-27 - New York door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

From the outside, this is simply the best Elevation concert and the most special one. It was way more important..
Lees volledige recensie »

2001-10-10 - South Bend door djrlewis gewaardeerd met

You should definitely have this boot in your collection. It's now one of the best sounding for all tours and..
Lees volledige recensie »


Popmart

Er zijn 334 recensies geschreven door 103 fans.

1997-08-28 - Leeds

Geschreven door ric - 8 jaren geleden

absolutely the best popmart gig in my opinion - there are a couple of other shows that might be considered equally as good but we've all seen/heard mexico 1000's of times and the other well known highlights from the final shows of the tour and of course sarajevo which were all great but this gig just has something else about it for me. the band seems to be relaxed but at the same time on TOP form, and refreshingly there are no serious moments, not even from bono who just seems to be having a great time.

every song is awesome but the (many) highlights are"

mofo-i will follow are the best you will ever hear them bar none, new years day is as good as it ever got in 97, miami-bullet will blow your face off (i have never heard a more brutal sounding first few bars of bullet). please is intense, discotheque with its whole lotta' love outro is my favourite version of this song ever, velvet dress has the extra verse, HMTMKMKM is perfect, mysterious ways is also my favourite version ever - the george harrison outro just works SO well!! and the the closing cover of rain is the icing on the cake.

if you're a fan of the popmart era this has to be in your top 3 MUST HAVE shows! you will listen to it over and over again
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1997-12-03 - Mexico City door loftarasa gewaardeerd met

No lows, just highs really!
This was one of the first bootlegs I listened to and is since then my..
Lees volledige recensie »

1997-05-31 - East Rutherford door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

Well,as I said,I was down on the band at this point.Thank God they woke up and went back to basics..
Lees volledige recensie »

1997-12-09 - Vancouver door Doming0 gewaardeerd met

My brother and I started off with nosebleed seats and while Smash Mouth was playing we found the Ticketmaster girl..
Lees volledige recensie »


ZOO TV

Er zijn 498 recensies geschreven door 133 fans.

1992-04-23 - Vancouver

Geschreven door Breemsicle - 5 jaren geleden

One of my favorite 1st leg shows, second only to the Boston Saint Patrick's Day show.

Highlights:

Even Better than the Real Thing - Bono introduces the band; "This is the Edge, Adam Clayton, Larry Mullen Jr...and I don't know who the f**k I am tonight" and during the song goes into his loudest "TAKE ME HIGHER!" ever. It'll startle you if you're not expecting it. After the song, he tries (unsuccessfully) to make a call to buy a diamond ring he sees on TV, in the style of the Auburn Hills pizza-for-everyone concert.
Mysterious Ways - great extended solo from Edge; my favorite version ever.
One - Bono improvises the last bit, and it almost makes sense: "One love. One life. One life. One wife. One love. You get to share her. If you give it away, [kids?] have gone astray. You can push it up. You can buck it up and get it all mixed up. Knockin', knockin', knockin' up, love!"
Until the End of the World - extended ending
Bad - Bono gets into it and leads the audience in screaming "no!".
Bullet the Blue Sky - I think it's because of the recording, but it's a lot faster than usual, which is fun to hear for once.
With or Without You - "We will shine like stars in the summer night. We will kick the darkness 'till it bleeds daylight. One hope. One blood." Everything's extended, from Edge's solo to the Shine Like Stars snippet to the last chords Edge strums. The highlight of the whole concert, and that says a lot.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1992-06-13 - Kiel door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

The beginning of this show was really strong, with Bono trying to talk in German. Excellent versions of EBTTRT, Mysterious..
Lees volledige recensie »

1993-05-11 - Rotterdam door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Very special concert because Bono screws up a lot but also makes it up by improvising, giving the songs something..
Lees volledige recensie »

1992-11-10 - San Diego door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

A great Outside Broadcast show, just after the 92 U.S. Presidential elections. Bono talks about that before and after ISHFWILF.
Let..
Lees volledige recensie »


Lovetown

Er zijn 173 recensies geschreven door 72 fans.

1989-10-12 - Melbourne

Geschreven door cesar_garza01 - 2 jaren geleden

The band continued their epic residency in Melbourne with this 4th show and this is one of the best! This show is a lengthy one with 23 songs. The first 2 songs sound amazing together: Streets after Bullet. It worked! The show was just hinting to be one of the best Lovetown gigs of the 1st leg, with debuts of Gloria and Out Of Control. I am not a fan of the studio version of God Part II but in this bootleg it sounds amazing. It is then followed by one of the best Desire-> AATW combos, with Bono extending his harmonica part well into AATW. I heard a snippet of In God's Country at the end of AATW. Very powerful ending. Then we have something very interesting: an AIWIY/Bad medley that actually sounds very cool. It has the best of both worlds (they did this for a couple of other Lovetown shows). This is one of the first Van Diemen's Land performances and it still has the extended guitar part by Edge, which sounds very nice. WOWY is very powerful too. Check Bono's Shine Like Stars part: chills. BB King's powerful trio came early before the encore and it was as fantastic as usual. Love Rescue Me is dedicated to the victims of the Tiananmen Square massacre. The encore has still more surprises with Out Of Control and Stand By Me.
If you want great bootlegs of the 1st leg of Lovetown, get this, "Bad At Its Best" from the 8th and "Lovetown Power" from the 9th.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1989-12-01 - Osaka door aussiemofo gewaardeerd met

Highlights
* The upside down setlist

* Bono playing audience cop as he was prone to do during this era. I don't..
Lees volledige recensie »

1989-12-15 - Dortmund door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

It doesn't get any better than this Lovetown leg and Dortmund is no exception. Perhaps the best show of the..
Lees volledige recensie »

1989-12-01 - Osaka door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

The setlist was shaken quite a bit, I don't know if it flows well, but it's always interesting to hear..
Lees volledige recensie »


Joshua Tree Tour

Er zijn 292 recensies geschreven door 95 fans.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

Geschreven door bodoheil - 2 jaren geleden

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1987-07-08 - Brussels door MattG gewaardeerd met

This is one of the more magical shows I've ever listened to. Recommended to me by Gerard, I couldn't possibly..
Lees volledige recensie »

1987-11-24 - Fort Worth door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Just superb! The band was inspired by BB King's presence and turned it up a notch. The JT tour peaked..
Lees volledige recensie »

1987-11-14 - Oakland door emiel gewaardeerd met

There are no Lowlights only Highlights ...a very good show the sound is almost as good as 1987-11-07 - Denver..
Lees volledige recensie »


Conspiracy Of Hope

Er zijn 21 recensies geschreven door 10 fans.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Geschreven door MattG - 7 jaren geleden

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

Er zijn 247 recensies geschreven door 67 fans.

1985-02-04 - Milan

Geschreven door CMIPalaeo - 10 maanden geleden

This has quickly become one of my favourite U2 recordings. The crowd are wild and the show is excellent. All the songs shine; many of the performances here are among the very best for several of these songs. Bono improvises lyrics in The Electric Co (or else it has an unlisted snippet) and especially during the amazing performance of Trash, Trampoline and the Party Girl which runs for over five-and-a-half minutes and has Bono adding a couple of new verses at the end and the band freestyling, it sounds very much like Sting to me. "40" closes the show in a suitably epic fashion, running some 11 minutes.

Overall, possibly the best Unforgettable Fire bootleg out there. Get it immediately if you don't have it already. You won't be sorry.

Highlights:
- 11 O'Clock Tick Tock
- Seconds - probably the best
- The ninth, final, and probably best performance of Indian Summer Sky (my favourite TUF song!)
- The Unforgettable Fire
- Wire/Give Me Some Truth - probably the best
- A long The Cry/The Electric Co. - among the best
- New Year's Day
- Party Girl - probably the best, a greatly extended version with extra lyrics that seem reminiscent of Sting in style and substance
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1984-11-05 - Edinburgh door aussiemofo gewaardeerd met

I recommend this bootleg for those wanting to capture U2 in full flight during their TUF period. They were in..
Lees volledige recensie »

1985-04-15 - East Rutherford door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

One of the best concerts in the 5th leg of the UF tour. The band was really enjoying their NJ..
Lees volledige recensie »

1985-02-05 - Bologna door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

This is where the love affair between Italy and U2 began. Incredible show, first night in Italy and the crowd..
Lees volledige recensie »


War Tour

Er zijn 169 recensies geschreven door 57 fans.

1983-05-05 - Boston

Geschreven door cesar_garza01 - 2 jaren geleden

First of all, the FM broadcast is NOT from this concert, it is actually from the show next day, so I think this is the first proper review of the show. And what a show! The band feed from the Irish-Bostonian vibe in the house and they gave it all. The main highlight of this boot is the last performance ever of Tomorrow. If you are a Tomorrow "completionist" like me, you must get this. I don't know why it wasn't played regularly. Another excellent performance was Two Hearts, with the Let's Twist Again part extended. 11 O'Clock was excellent as well. I'm a sucker for the Drowning Man snippet and the final solo is amazing. In Surrender Bono invoked the spirit of Michael Jackson and it was great. I liked the Brick/ A Day Without Me combo too. There's an unlisted snippet of Send In The Clowns in Electric Co. Perhaps the only song I can't consider good is Party Girl. They were still playing with it and it's not the version we know.
Funnily enough, Bono did mistakes between songs, like saying "It's great to be back in NY" (WTF?) or introducing NYD as Two Hearts.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1983-06-01 - San Francisco door fleavox gewaardeerd met

The show is plagued by tech problems but was oddly funny, specially after first 6 songs!!

Highlights: Out of Control..
Lees volledige recensie »

1983-06-05 - Denver door EDDMB gewaardeerd met

Classic.Just epic show.The band really found themselves at this time.Their live shows were so great.Just the band,the music was so..
Lees volledige recensie »

1982-12-06 - London door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

A must-have. Excellent quality bootleg, probably the best I've heard from the early tours.

Highlights:
-Surrender (best performance, somewhat different than the..
Lees volledige recensie »


October Tour

Er zijn 107 recensies geschreven door 28 fans.

1981-08-16 - Slane

Geschreven door CMIPalaeo - 3 jaren geleden

An interesting show. Not great, but not as bad as the band cracked it up to be. Many of the October songs had differing lyrics to their final versions, some of the Boy songs also had altered words. The Ocean had alternate lyrics I thought were quite good; the rambling lyrics for October and I Threw a Brick were not so good...

For the record, I think With a Shout could've been a very good opener.

Overall, it's a below-par show mostly because of the poor sound and the band's unfamiliarity with the new material.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1982-07-04 - Werchter door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-10-30 - Amsterdam door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

U2 in the Netherlands. Enough said. There's always something in the air when the band plays here and this show..
Lees volledige recensie »

1982-01-26 - Dublin door daymo1202 gewaardeerd met

A good friend of mine was at this show and was billed as U2's homecoming show in Dublin in January..
Lees volledige recensie »


Boy Tour

Er zijn 117 recensies geschreven door 42 fans.

1981-03-18 - San Jose

Geschreven door Dystopian45 - 1 jaar geleden

As I remember it, this was a free show or cost next to nothing to attend. It was held in the student union ballroom of San Jose State University. This room was built to be earthquake proof and the floor was suspended on something like springs. When the floor got packed and the music started and people started moving in time with the music the floor started to act like a trampoline. No kidding. If you timed your jump you could launch yourself 3 to 4 feet off the floor. They had to have crew guys hold the P.A. system in place as everything started to wobble. I saw XTC, Huey Lewis, Fabulous Thunderbirds and more in this room and all the shows were amazing with a very intimate vibe. I miss those days.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1980-11-11 - Canterbury door fleavox gewaardeerd met

Interesting bootleg, great performance and an average recording, maybe if the taper were in another position we can get a..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-01-23 - Belfast door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Simply spectacular. One of the best Boy bootlegs and a must-have for any fan. One source misses Things To Make..
Lees volledige recensie »

1981-05-15 - San Francisco door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

I rediscovered this gig and it is truly fantastic. I listened to the old source a long time ago and..
Lees volledige recensie »


Early Days

Er zijn 37 recensies geschreven door 22 fans.

1980-02-26 - Dublin

Geschreven door CMIPalaeo - 10 maanden geleden

Silver Lining is an early version of 11 O'Clock Tick Tock. Musically it's nearly identical (except a few neat little things at the end) but has very different lyrics. Speed of Life has lyrics, unlike the version that was eventually officially released. Trevor is an early version of Touch. Shadows and Tall Trees sounds quite different to the version on Boy.

Overall, a very solid show with great historical value. It's really something special to see the band at this early stage playing with all the passion and fire that will define their whole career.

Highlights
- Life On a Distant Planet (one of my favourite of U2's early songs)
- Another Day
- Pete the Chop
- Cartoon World
- Twilight
- Out of Control
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

1979-10-05 - Cork door cornellazar gewaardeerd met

I love this show / recording. All the old, unreleased tunes are stellar Punk/New Wave and hint at what U2..
Lees volledige recensie »

1980-07-27 - Co. Kildare door cesar_garza01 gewaardeerd met

Last pre-Boy bootleg and a short one too. There's actually some good stuff here. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock from this..
Lees volledige recensie »

1980-03-02 - Tullamore door CMIPalaeo gewaardeerd met

Nothing spectacular, fun but inexperienced performance and mediocre sound. The main selling point for this boot is the number of..
Lees volledige recensie »


Various Dates

Er zijn 165 recensies geschreven door 64 fans.

2011-10-15 - Hollywood

Geschreven door ahn1991 - 5 jaren geleden

Wow. Just wow. Of the little hype this act was given, the band certainly came out and hit it out of the park. Seven acoustic songs, partly accompanied by a string section. There are a couple surprises. The first and major surprise is the live debut of "A Man And A Woman." This rather obscure HTDAAB song was seemingly hated on left and right by hardcore fans, but the band decided to stick it to the man and bust this one out. I will be honest and say that it is probably one of the strongest acoustic songs they now have. The second surprise is "Staring At The Sun." Another rather underrated song, this one hailing from Pop, makes its first appearance since it was last played during the Elevation Tour back in the early 2000s. While it was speculated that this song would make a 360 appearance, that appearance never materialized, so Pop fans will be pleased to hear this beauty joined by the string section.

Other hits include Desire, I Still Haven't Found, Sunday Bloody Sunday, all played acoustically along with One accompanied by the strings (and a very strong performance, must I say). The main set ended with Clinton coming on stage to announce the encore while praising Bono and Edge for their work. The show ended with Miss Sarajevo with Edge trading the guitar for the piano. Another song with string accompaniment and a strong performance by Bono brought the night to a close.

Highlights - EVERYTHING
Lowlights - NONE

Download this one! The rarity of a full acoustic set this good is bound to keep you coming back to this when you need your U2 fix but don't want a full dose of rock n roll.
Lees volledige recensie »

Optreden:
Publiek:
Geluid:
Algemeen:

2011-06-24 - Glastonbury door patssox95 gewaardeerd met

WOW,wow,wow,wow! This is the best bootleg on this site. i know everyone's favorite show(s) is on you were..
Lees volledige recensie »

1983-12-18 - London door partygirl65 gewaardeerd met

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at..
Lees volledige recensie »

2015-10-16 - London door ajr gewaardeerd met

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get..
Lees volledige recensie »